Let’s make things physical

I swear, the strangest and yet, often most hilarious ideas come to me when I run on the treadmill.  This week, listening to Tegan & Sara’s Closer, a song I’ve heard thousands of times, it occurred to me- it completely translates to information literacy and using the library!  Isn’t that fantastic!?!

Image

Do me a favour and listen to the song– following my lyric notes- then tell me I’m crazy!  Amirite!

“Closer”
All I want to get is a little bit closer (To understanding how the library works)
All I want to know is, can you come a little closer? (I live off-campus and hate driving in)
Here comes the breath before we get a little bit closer (That sigh before you start getting hard to work)
Here comes the rush before we touch, come a little closer (OMG that book I reserved is FINALLY in!)
The doors are open, the wind is really blowing (There’s no Air Con in the library, afterall)
The night sky is changing overhead (Have I really spent the entire day in the library?)
It’s not just all physical (We have electronic resources too, don’t you know!)
I’m the type who won’t get oh so critical (I mean, I prefer a print copy, but electronic will do)
So let’s make things physical (I’ll just print these journal articles out to make annotations)
I won’t treat you like you’re oh so typical (It says you’re peer-reviewed. That’s good, right?)
I won’t treat you like you’re oh so typical (I know this was published in 1960, but it’s a definitive work!)
All you think of lately is getting underneath me (As I fall asleep on top of a stack of papers)
All I dream of lately is how to get you underneath me (That’s 4 articles under my belt, only 10 more to go!)
Here comes the heat before we meet a little bit closer (Love feeling a hot stack of papers from the copier in my hand)
Here comes the spark before the dark, come a little closer (When you finally understand something you read moments before you fall asleep)
The lights are off and the sun is finally setting (Why can’t the library be opened 24/7?)
The night sky is changing overhead (I’ll be back the moment they open in the morning)
It’s not just all physical (We have electronic resources too, don’t you know!)
I’m the type who won’t get oh so critical (I mean, I prefer a print copy, but electronic will do)
So let’s make things physical (I’ll just print these journal articles out to make annotations)
I won’t treat you like you’re oh so typical (It says you’re peer-reviewed. That’s good, right?)
I want you close, I want you (I need all of my library books on the desk for easy reference)
I won’t treat you like you’re typical (You’re a reference book, so I’ll make sure not to earmark any pages)
I want you close, I want you (Someone STILL hasn’t returned the book I need?)
I won’t treat you like you’re typical (I’ll return my books to the librarians rather than the returns bin)
Here come the dreams of you and me
Here come the dreams
Here come the dreams of you and me (I really want a 1st or a 2:1)
Here come the dreams
All I want to get is a little bit closer (To knowing how to access all the library resources)
All I want to know is, can you come a little closer? (So I can use everything you offer)

 

The image in this post belongs to Warner Bros. and will be removed by request

 

Leave a Reply

